

### THE INSTITUTE OF COST ACCOUNTANTS OF INDIA CMA BHAWAN, 12, SUDDER STREET, KOLKATA – 700 016.

#### **ELECTION TO THE MANAGING COMMITTEE OF CHAPTERS**

Kolkata, Saturday, the 23<sup>rd</sup> September, 2017

### Circular No. GC(4)/2017

# Clarification regarding eligibility of members to contest in the election to the Managing Committee of Chapters

This is clarified for information of all concerned that the following members cannot contest in the election to the Managing Committee of Chapters for 2017 – 2019 term.

- 1. Member of the Council or Regional Council.
- Member after becoming the Chairman of 'A' category Chapter, Council Member or Regional Council Member (past or present what so ever the case may be). (Member of the Managing Committee after becoming the Council Member / Regional Council Member must vacate the position in the Managing Committee of the Chapter.)
- 3. Member whose occupational / professional address is not falling within the Chapter's jurisdiction.
- 4. Member disqualified to continue as a member under Clause 9 or Clause 10 of the Chapter Bye Laws 2013 as amended in 2017.
- 5. Member of the Chapter not being a Member or student of the Institute.
- 6. Member who has been found guilty of any professional or other misconduct and his name is removed from the register or he has been awarded penalty of fine.
- 7. Member who has been auditor of the Institute in what so ever capacity during the last three years.
- 8. Member who is presently employed by or under the Institute either permanently or temporary or whole time consultancy or through third party.



# THE INSTITUTE OF COST ACCOUNTANTS OF INDIA CMA BHAWAN, 12, SUDDER STREET, KOLKATA – 700 016.

- 9. Member who had been employed by or under the Institute either permanently or temporary or whole time consultancy or through third party during the last three years.
- Note: Applicability of the bye law 19(1)(e) "Any member can contest election to the Managing Committee for a maximum of 4 terms consecutively" shall be with effect from the term 2017-19.

This clarification supersedes the clarification issued on 1<sup>st</sup> September, 2017.

Kaushik Banerjee Secretary